You are here

Newsletter

Greetings from Stellenbosch Golf Club

Monday, May 14, 2018 - 14:15







It was great to see so many members join us on Saturday when we opened after our autumn treatments last week. It will be a while before the course is back to being perfect, but it’s going to be worth it. Please assist us during this period with pitchmarks and divots, I was quite shocked to see the number of unfixed pitchmarks after Saturday's round. We love to always blame the visitors, but this time we will have to do a bit of self-reflection! #fixyourpitchmarks

What amazed me the most is just how quickly everything has gone green after we had the first winter rains. We are holding thumbs for a wet, wet, wet winter in the Cape with lots of snow, mostly on Sunday afternoons through Tuesdays, with perfect golfing conditions on Wednesdays and Saturdays! #yesplease #wetwinter #welcomeback

Congratulations to my friend Justin on his win in Swaziland over the weekend!

Justin Harding carded a bogey-free nine-under-par 63 on Saturday to pull off his sixth Sunshine Tour victory when he squeaked home in the Investec Royal Swazi Open by one point. We are all proud of you and happy for you! Justin has been playing great golf the last couple of months with several runner-up finishes. This is the second win for Stellenbosch GC this year, with JJ Senekal winning earlier in the year. #theseboyscanplay #champion
 


  Commando Golf
On Friday afternoon we had a bit of fun at the golf course and yes, everyone kept their clothes on! We went Commando Golfing from the 5th tee box to the 6th green. We had a 7 in the first group that finished the rather long hole (824m, yes 824m!), but a 6 on the hole was always on the cards and we had three golfers making 6. If you think that was impressive, listen to this perfect hole...

Pierre De Villiers (our PGA Apprentice) hit a driver in the fairway, then a 3 wood short of the 5th green, he then had to decide to go over or under the trees behind the green. He opted to take on a small gap under the trees to try and get a little closer to the green, he hit the perfect stinger with a 3 iron, then wedged it onto the green and held a 9m (18 foot) putt for a 5 on the monster of a hole! Yes, a 5! Congratulations Pierre! He was also part of the winning team when we did the fastest hole in October last year.

A big thank you to Commando Brandy and my good friend Keith Clark for their support! Can you think of anything better to enjoy after Commando Golf than a Commando Brandy? #commandogolf #commandobrandy #824mhole #pierremade5




Group One Nissan Challenge

On Wednesday we are welcoming the team from Group One Nissan & Renault Stellenbosch back for the 3rd round of our Group One Nissan Challenge. I just had a peak at the bookings for Wednesday and spotted three open spots. Stop reading and book now, then come back and enjoy the rest of theDog’s Tale...


The leaderboard after two rounds looks like follows, but remember there are eight more rounds to go, which means a lot can still happen! #grouponenissanchallenge #leaderboard


  Ladies Inter Club 2018
Although Stellenbosch GC hosted its Club Championships last weekend, we still had a small representation at the annual Ladies Inter Club hosted by Langebaan GC. For the past 20 years Stellenbosch GC have supported the event well, but this year sadly the dates did not play along.

Our Ladies President, Niki de Jager and her partner, Ulrike Stolte, did well and won the best net (70.5) on the first day. The Friday dress theme was water so the ladies decided on rainbow fairies.


League Golf Day – 8 Junie 2018
The annual League Golf Day will be taking place on Friday 8 June 2018. As always it will have a fun format with a “touch of revenge” on the day. We hope you can support this great day to raise additional funds for all our league sides.
Click here for all the information you will need.

An interesting ruling by the R&A
I thought you should see this one, which has gone viral:

A player's ball has ended over a branch, over the hole, whereby the branch prevents the ball from falling into the hole! What should the player do now? Is the ball holed without penalty? With penalty? Or does the player have to replay the stroke? Or…?
The R&A gave us the answer: The ball was holed without penalty!

And it's...holed! It's got golfers talking around the globe. Here's our Ruling:

"It is a very rare situation, but The R&A received a similar question 30 years ago. The answer given, which we would still apply, was as follows: On the putting green, if the player’s removal of a loose impediment causes the ball to move, the ball is replaced without penalty. As replacement of the ball would be impossible in this case, in equity (Rule 1-4), the ball is considered to be holed with the previous stroke."
 

Thank you dads!
I would like to end of this week by thanking all the dads who treated the moms in their lives to an amazing lunch at the golf club on Sunday. Can you think of any better place to spoil mommy while the kids enjoy the open space at the club? Thank you also to our Chef, Gerhard, the food was out of this world. I will be hitting the gym hard this week!

Have a great one,
Louis





Pages